It Has Begun

I love Conan. I can remember watching Conan the Barbarian on VHS as a kid and immediately falling in love with the character and the world in which he lived in. It was first real introduction into a fantasy world and being a preteen at the time I found myself drawn to that setting. I absorbed as much information as I could not just about Conan but any fantasy material I could get my hands on. Lord of the Rings,Dungeons and Dragons, Dragonlance and Shannara series were but a few of the things I was into at a young age.

Years go by and I have moved on in my life but my love of fantasy still persists. I have always enjoyed gaming from way back in the day on an Atari 2600 alway the way to PC games of today. The games I have liked the most are the fantasy ones. From Bard’s tale to King’s Quest to Might and Magic to Everquest to World of Warcraft, I was always playing something. I think the advent of massively multiplayer online games or MMO’s, has caught my attention even more. Here now exists dynamic living breathing worlds that are populated with real players were my actions can and do have consequences on the world around me. Its a fantastic idea for the fantasy lover like me!

When I first read that a MMO designed after Conan and the world he lives in was being made I was excited at first and skeptical after. You see I have been through a gambit of MMO games in the past few years from Vanguard to Lord of the Rings and have been disappointed by the results. I am still a World of Warcraft player even I as i write this blog. It is still the champ when it comes to MMO’s and eventhough I have a somewhat love/hate relationship with the game, I still find myself coming back to it. But maybe that will end with Age of Conan or AOC for short.

I am very lucky in someways. I have always had the best of the best when it comes to computer hardware and I think this is the main reason I seem to always get into closed betas for any game I want. Name an MMO in the past 10 years and I have beta tested it. It was no exception with AOC and tried the game in between raiding on WoW. I was intrigued with what they were trying to do and the places were they wanted to go with the game. I leveled a few classes to give myself an impression and found myself pleased with the very different styles of each class. Time went on and the closed beta become an open beta and I found myself back again and was once again please with the progress the game was making. They had a shot to be successful and while they may not be able to dethrone WoW they could make a great game and have alot of people playing it.
Now the game is finally out and after two days of playing I think..no I hope we may have that game that will rival WoW. Time will tell….

up next

FIrst impressions on launch day and leveling!!

Leave a Reply

